Bankruptcy Law Section

Steven B. Ramsdell, chair

The Bankruptcy Section had 799 members during the 2013-2014 fiscal year.  In addition to our typical and annually recurring activities, we saw a number of transitions during this past bar year.

Judge Tice in the Eastern District of Virginia and Judge Stone in the Western District of Virginia have retired from the bench and been succeeded by Judge Phillips and Judge Black, respectively.  We expressed our gratitude to the retired judges, commissioning a portrait of Judge Tice and designing and ordering a retirement plaque for Judge Stone.  We proudly welcomed their successors by contributing to their social receptions following the official investitures.  Mike Mueller and Madeline Trainor were particularly helpful in coordinating these efforts.

Judge Anderson passed away and was the subject of a series of warm tributes in the Bankruptcy Law News, all of which were coordinated by our editor, Sarah Boehm.  This was Sarah’s first year as editor and she ensured that each issue came out quarterly, with precision.

Besides these transitional issues, the section, through its vice-chair Robbie Westermann, planned—in conjunction with VA CLE—a Spring program on business bankruptcies that was held in northern Virginia in March.  The presenters included Judge Robert G. Mayer and Judge Brian F. Kenney, and the seminar was well received.

Our more routine section business included hiring a webmaster to assist in keeping our website up-to-date, updating bankruptcy case notes for the website to keep section members abreast of recent legal developments, updating the bankruptcy brochure that is posted on the site in English and Spanish, and posting an informational video on bankruptcies to the website.  Doug Little, David Greer, and Madeline Trainor contributed significant efforts on these issues.

Additionally, the section’s secretary, Angela Scolforo, has taken the lead on planning future seminars on proofs of claim.

We held our winter dinner meeting in Charlottesville in February and our summer dinner meeting in Virginia Beach in June, where we formally installed next year’s officers:  Robbie Westermann, chair; Angela Scolforo, vice-chair; and Madeline Trainor, secretary.  For 2014-2015, Webb King, Tara Elgie, and Ken Whitehurst are joining the bankruptcy section’s board of governors to succeed David Greer, Doug Little, and Loc Pfeiffer, whose terms have expired.

Updated: Jul 01, 2014