Bankruptcy Law

Christopher A. Jones, Chair

The Bankruptcy Section currently has 712 members.  Here are the highlights of our 2017-18 fiscal year:

  1. Bankruptcy Law Writing Competition: The Section established the Bankruptcy Law Writing Competition to promote interest in the practice of bankruptcy law.  The Board solicited entries from law students attending Virginia law schools.  Grayson Orsini, a third-year law student at the University of Richmond, won the competition. 
  2. Bankruptcy Law News:  The Section continued with its highly successful and popular quarterly newsletter featuring at least 2 lead articles, a message from the Clerk of either the ED or WD Bankruptcy Court, a message from the Section Chair, a message from the Newsletter Editor, and case notes and highlights.  Andrea Davison, our Newsletter Editor, has continued her superb work and our publications have been well received.   
  3. Spring CLE:  Sarah B. Boehm, Vice-Chair, worked with Virginia CLE to organize the Annual Bankruptcy Practice Seminar in Fairfax, VA in March 2018.  This year’s seminar focused on consumer bankruptcy issues.  The panelists included three bankruptcy judges and numerous practitioners, and drew a record number of attendees. 
  4. Meetings/Dinners:  We held our annual Winter dinner meeting in Charlottesville in March and our annual Summer dinner meeting in Virginia Beach in June in conjunction with the VSB Annual Meeting.
  5. 2018-19 Section Leadership:  The following have been formally installed with unanimous approval of the Board of Governors and with unanimous approval of the Section members who attended our lunch/annual meeting at the VSB Annual Meeting:   Sarah B. Boehm, Chair; Erika L. Morabito, Vice-Chair; and Hannah W. Hutman, Secretary.
  6. New Board of Governors Members:  The following have been formally elected to the Board of Governors for three-year terms upon the nomination of Nominating Committees from the Eastern District and Western District and with unanimous approval of the Board of Governors:  Brandy Rapp of Roanoke, VA from the Western District and Kelly Barnhart of Norfolk, VA from the Eastern District.  The Board currently has 12 members.
Updated: Jul 02, 2018