Bankruptcy Law Section

Robert Tayloe Copeland, chair

With the decline in the national economy, the Bankruptcy Section had an extremely busy year. It began with the annual meeting of the Virginia State Bar in 2008 with a well-attended panel discussion on the subprime mortgage crisis and what could be done to assist clients in need. The seminar was covered by the local press in Hampton Roads and a special program aired on WAVY-TV Channel 10.

Just after that program, the section was approached by Virginia CLE to assist with two new programs on bankruptcy basics. In addition, there was a significant amount of activity toward amending the provisions of Chapter 13, which would have required extensive re-education of bankruptcy attorneys. The section successfully hosted March 2009 seminars in Roanoke and Richmond that were well attended, with very active participation.

In addition, the section continued sponsoring proof-of-claim seminars for the creditors’ community, with programs in Northern Virginia and Richmond. The section published three issues of its Bankruptcy Law News under the leadership of Richard D. “Ric” Scott of the Roanoke office of LeClair Ryan PC, and the section continued its work toward expanding the content of its website through the efforts of Lynn L. Tavenner and Loc Pfeiffer.

The section ended fiscal 2008-09 by cosponsoring at the Virginia State Bar Annual Meeting, with the Real Property Section, another program dealing with the continuing mortgage crisis. As with the prior year’s program, it was well-attended, primarily by real estate practitioners.

At its annual business meeting, the section elected the following to its board of governors: Robert S. Westermann of Richmond to succeed Tyler P. Brown of Richmond, Maria Timoney of Wytheville to succeed Malissa Lambert Giles of Roanoke, and Angela M. Scolforo of Scottsville to succeed H. David Cox of Lynchburg. Douglas M. Foley of Norfolk was reelected to another term. In the 2009-10 fiscal year, Roy M. Terry Jr. of Richmond will serve as chair, Malissa Lambert Giles of Roanoke, will serve as vice chair, and Lynn L. Tavenner of Richmond will serve as secretary.

Updated: Sep 02, 2009