Antitrust, Franchise & Trade Regulation Section

Wendell L. Taylor, chair


The Antitrust, Franchise, and Trade Regulation Section did not sponsor any programs at the 2010 Virginia State Bar Annual Meeting, but cosponsored a seminar with the International Practice and Corporate Counsel section in 2009.  The program explored contractual, intellectual property, import-export, and antitrust issues associated with establishing and managing transnational distribution systems. We will work to present a comparable program at the 2011 Annual Meeting in conjunction with another VSB section.

Annual Meeting

Soon after the Annual Meeting, the following officers were elected: Patricia M. McDermott, chair; Johnny Brent Justus, vice chair; Robert William Loftin, secretary.  Matthew Bachrack was elected as new member of the board of governors, and Patrick R. Hanes and James M. Wilson were reelected to the board for a second term.

Future projects

The board has identified several areas for growth and development of the section, including conducting local social activities and re-establishing law school writing contests.

I would like to thank each of the board members for their work. Also, on behalf of the section, I would like to thank Theresa B. Patrick of the VSB staff, without whom we could not have functioned effectively.

Updated: Feb 15, 2011