Administrative Law

Ashley Beuttel Macko, Chair

As of June 2016, the Administrative Law Section had 538 members. Organized in 1979, the Administrative Law Section is focused on the interests and practices involving administrative law and regulated industries.

The budget for fiscal year 2016 was $7,010.00.

34th National Regulatory Conference (NRC):
The Section again sponsored what has become our signature event and the marquis gathering for administrative law practitioners in Virginia (especially those practicing before the Virginia State Corporation Commission). The 34th National Regulatory Conference was held May 19-20, 2016, again spanning two days at the College of William & Mary’s Marshall-Wythe School of Law in historic Williamsburg, Virginia.

The program was titled “Out with the Old, In with the New: Preparing for Our Energy Future.”  The Conference featured panels on a variety of legal and regulatory topics, including emerging technologies; aging infrastructure and replacement programs; new interstate natural gas pipelines; distribution system operators and the New York “Reforming the Energy Vision” (REV) Model encouraging distributed generation and a more consumer-oriented distribution grid; and state implementation of the Clean Power Plan.  Also, in keeping with tradition, the NRC presented a showcase Ethics CLE opportunity featuring McGuireWoods’ Tom Spahn on “Litigation Ethics.”  The program was organized by Charlotte McAfee, vice chair (now chair) of the Section and Senior Counsel with Dominion Resources Services.  The 2016 NRC was approved for nine hours of continuing legal education credits, including two hours of ethics. A continued success, conference attendees topped 170.

Annual Brown Bag Luncheon CLE Program:
On April 7, 2016, the Section held its annual, no-charge “Brown Bag Luncheon” CLE Program at the State Bar’s conference center.  This year’s topic was“Tips from the Trenches: Practice Tips for Administrative Practitioners,” and it featured the Honorable Mark Christie (State Corporation Commission); the Honorable Elizabeth B. Lacy (Ret.) (Supreme Court of Virginia); and the Honorable Wesley G. Russell, Jr. (Court of Appeals of Virginia). The panelists provided valuable tips for improving regulatory litigation practice, including insights into what makes for effective legal writing, oral argument, and cross-examination. A great crowd turned out for the event, and attendees received one hour of CLE credit.  The program was organized by Kristian Dahl, immediate past Section chair and Senior Counsel with McGuireWoods LLP.

The section published an edition of the Administrative Law Newsletter.  James G. Ritter of the Energy and Telecommunications practice group at Christian & Barton, LLP in Richmond continues his service as the newsletter editor. The Spring 2016 issue covered several topics of interest to Section members, including articles on the U.S. Supreme Court’s recent decision related to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission’s authority over demand response, as well as forthcoming related cases; and updated net energy metering regulations in Virginia. 

The section continued to maintain and update its informative website, including current and past issues of the Administrative Law Newsletter, information concerning current and past National Regulatory Conferences, presentations and CLE materials from the 34th Annual NRC, upcoming events, and a membership application.

Officers and new board members:
This section elected its 2016-2017 officers and board members at its annual meeting, held during the NRC on May 19, 2016.  New officers are Charlotte P. McAfee, chair; Philip Reed De Haas, vice chair; Elaine S. Ryan, secretary; and James G. Ritter has graciously accepted staying on as newsletter editor.  Beth Clowers and Noelle Coates also joined the board.

Updated: Aug 02, 2016