Administrative Law

Philip R. “Duke” de Haas, Chair, 2017-2018

As of June 2018, the Administrative Law Section had 597 members. Organized in 1979, the Administrative Law Section is focused on the interests and practices involving administrative law and regulated industries.

The budget for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2018 was $7,712.00.

36th National Regulatory Conference (NRC):
The Section again sponsored the 36th National Regulatory Conference held May 17-18, 2018 at the College of William & Mary’s Marshall-Wythe School of Law in historic Williamsburg, Virginia.

The program, titled Innovation and Regulation: Shaping the Energy of Tomorrow was approved for a total of 7.5 hours of CLE credit (2 ethics) and featured panels on a variety of legal and regulatory topics.  The program was organized by Elaine S. Ryan, Vice Chair (now Chair) of the Section and a Partner at McGuireWoods LLP. 

The section published the Spring 2018 edition of the Administrative Law Newsletter with several topics of interest to Section members. James G. Ritter at Christian & Barton, LLP served as the Newsletter Editor. C. Mitch Burton, Jr. has been elected to serve as the Newsletter Editor for 2018-2019. 

Officers and new board members:
The section elected its 2018-2019 officers and board members at its annual meeting, held during the NRC on May 17, 2018.  New officers are Elaine S. Ryan, chair; K. Beth Clowers, Vice Chair; and James G. Ritter, Secretary. C. Mitch Burton, Jr. has been elected to serve as the Newsletter Editor.  Alisson P. Klaiber, Ashley B. Macko, and Samuel R. Brumberg also joined the board.

Updated: Jul 05, 2018