Administrative Law

Kristian Mark Dahl, Chair

As of June 2015, the Administrative Law Section had 538 members. Organized in 1979, the Administrative Law Section is focused on the interests and practices involving administrative law and regulated industries.

The budget for fiscal year 2015 was $6,735.

33rd National Regulatory Conference (NRC):
The section again sponsored what has become our signature event and the marquis gathering for administrative law practitioners in Virginia (especially those practicing before the Virginia State Corporation Commission). The 33rd National Regulatory Conference was held May 20-21, 2015, again spanning two days at the College of William & Mary’s Marshall-Wythe School of Law in historic Williamsburg, Virginia.

The program was titled Obstacles and Opportunities: Charting a Course through the Evolving Regulatory Landscape. Several panels focused on the impact of recent environmental law developments on utility regulation. Specifically, panels addressed legal issues with the Obama Administration’s Clean Power Plan, the EPA’s implementation of the Clean Power Plan and the potential impacts on electric grid reliability, and the legal issues connected with the future of utility demand response programs. Additional panels and speakers addressed legal issues arising from the relative costs and benefits of renewable energy and the increasing role of natural gas in the generation of electricity. Also, in keeping with tradition, the NRC presented a showcase Ethics CLE opportunity featuring Jack Marshall on “The Virtuous Lawyer’s Grand Tour.” The program was organized by Ashley Macko, vice chair (now chair) of the Section and Associate General Counsel with the Office of General Counsel at the Virginia State Corporation Commission. The 2015 NRC was approved for nine hours of continuing legal education credits, including two hours of ethics. A continued success, conference registration again topped 160.

Annual Brown Bag Luncheon CLE Program:
On April 30, 2015, the Section held its annual, no-charge “Brown Bag Luncheon” CLE Program at the State Bar’s new conference center.  This year’s topic focused on land use and condemnation, with a special focus on the eminent domain rights of utilities against the backdrop of the natural gas pipeline activity now taking place in the Commonwealth.  The program was organized by Samuel Brumberg, immediate past Section chair and Association Counsel for the Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives. Speakers included Michael Lacy, a partner in the Consumer Financial Services practice group at Troutman Sanders LLP; and Joseph T. Waldo, Partner and President of Waldo & Lyle, P.C in Norfolk, Virginia.

The section published an in-depth edition of the Administrative Law Newsletter. James G. Ritter of the Energy and Telecommunications practice group at Christian & Barton, LLP in Richmond continues his service as the newsletter editor. The Winter 2015 issue covered several topics of interest to Section members, including articles on the Governor’s 2014 Energy Plan for the Commonwealth, on Virginia’s efforts to bring offshore wind energy to fruition, and an overview of the EPA’s Proposed Clean Power Plan, as well as an update on regulatory goings-on and news of interest to Section members such as the U.S. Senate’s confirmation of a new Commissioner to serve on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

The section continued to maintain and update its informative website, including current and past issues of the Administrative Law Newsletter, information concerning current and past National Regulatory Conferences, presentations and CLE materials from the 33rd Annual NRC, upcoming events, and a membership application.

Officers and new board members:
This section elected its 2015-2016 officers and board members at its annual meeting, held during the NRC on May 20, 2015.  New officers are Ashley B. Macko, chair; Charlotte P. McAfee, vice chair; Philip Reed De Haas, secretary; and  James G. Ritter has graciously accepted staying on as newsletter editor.  Angela Navarro, Raymond L. Doggett and Elaine S. Ryan also joined the board.

Updated: Jul 27, 2015