Administrative Law

Elaine S. Ryan, Chair

As of June 2019, the Administrative Law Section had 675 members. Organized in 1979, the Administrative Law Section is focused on the interests and practices involving administrative law and regulated industries.

The remaining budget for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2019 was $4,745.

37thNational Regulatory Conference (NRC):
The Section again sponsored the 37thNational Regulatory Conference held May 16-17, 2019 at the College of William & Mary’s Marshall-Wythe School of Law in historic Williamsburg, Virginia.  The NRC was co-sponsored by the Virginia Bar Association’s Administrative Law Section.

The program was approved for a total of 7.5 hours of CLE credit (2.0 ethics) and featured panels on a variety of legal and regulatory topics.  The program was organized by Beth Clowers, Vice Chair (now Chair) of the Section and Associate General Counsel at the State Corporation Commission.  The Honorable Bernard L. McNamee, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, delivered the keynote address. 

Brown Bag Luncheon CLE Program:
On April 11, 2019, the Section held its Brown Bag Luncheon CLE Program at the State Bar.  This year’s program, entitled The Cutting Edge of Booze: New Developments in Alcohol Licensing, convenedexpert panelists from government and the wine and beer industry to discuss recent major changes to beer and alcohol licensing and the overall legislative and regulatory structure for beer and wine regulation in Virginia.  Attendees received 1.5 hour of CLE credit.  The program was organized by Philip R. “Duke” de Haas, immediate past Section chair and Director and Associate General Counsel, Allianz.

Officers and New Board Members:
The Section elected its 2019-2020 officers and board members at its annual meeting, held during the NRC on May 16, 2019.  New officers are K. Beth Clowers, Chair; James G. Ritter, Vice Chair; and Alisson P. Klaiber, Secretary.  Charles Mitchell Burton, Jr., will continue as Newsletter Editor.  Matthew L. Gooch and Frederick D. Ochsenhirt also joined the board.

Updated: Aug 23, 2019