Administrative Law Section

Thomas C. Walker Jr., chair

In June 2012, the Administrative Law Section had 462 members.

The budget for fiscal 2011-12 was $6,332.

Thirtieth National Regulatory Conference
The section sponsored the Thirtieth National Regulatory Conference, which was held May 17-18, 2012, at the College of William & Mary School of Law. The program was titled “Is There an App for This?” The keynote speaker was Blair Levin of the Aspen Institute. Mr. Levin was formerly with the Federal Communications Commission where he oversaw the development of the National Broadband Plan.  He spoke about how state and federal telecom policy can lead to a strategic bandwidth advantage.  Additional panels covered distributed generation, developments in the communications sector, energy industry mergers, transmission challenges, and legal ethics. The program was organized by Louis R. Monacell, vice chair of the section, and provided eight continuing legal education credits, including two in ethics.

Annual Meeting CLE program
The section cosponsored a CLE program, “Prospects for Uranium Mining in Virginia,” with the Environmental Law Section at the Virginia State Bar Annual Meeting. Samuel R. Brumberg spearheaded the section’s organization of the program. Speakers included Cathie France of DMME, Timothy G. Hayes of Hunton & Williams, Caleb A. Jaffe of the Southern Environmental Law Center, and Katherine E. Slaughter.

Annual Brown Bag Luncheon CLE Program
On April 6, 2012, the section held its annual Brown Bag Luncheon CLE Program, titled “Changes to the State Corporation Commission’s Discovery Rule.” The program was organized by past chair T. Borden Ellis and moderated by board member Ann A. Berkebile. Speakers included Scott A. White, Senior Counsel, Virginia State Corporation Commission; Phillip de Hass, Troutman Sanders LLP; and Kristian M. Dahl, McGuireWoods LLP.

The section published an issue of the Administrative Law News in March 2102.  Ashley B. Macko served as the newsletter editor, and the issue included articles on the application of FOIA to the State Corporation Commission, PJM’s proposal regarding demand response, the SCC’s price determination for gas facilities, new SCC procedures for court reporting services, two uranium studies, and environmental rate adjustment clauses. The next issue is expected in the summer of 2012.

The section continued to maintain and update its website, including current and past issues of Administrative Law News, information concerning past National Regulatory Conferences, upcoming events, and a membership application.

Officers and new board members
The section elected officers and board members at its annual meeting, held during the NRC. New officers are Louis R. Monacell, chair; Samuel R. Brumberg, vice-chair; Kristian Dahl secretary; and Ashley B. Macko, newsletter editor.  Alisson O. Pouille was added to the board.

Updated: Aug 16, 2012