Administrative Law Section

T. Borden Ellis, chair

In June 2011, the Administrative Law Section had 472 members.

The budget for fiscal 2010-11 was $6,368.

Twenty-ninth National Regulatory Conference
The Administrative Law Section sponsored the Twenty-Ninth National Regulatory Conference, which was held May 19-20, 2011, at the College of William & Mary School of Law. The program was titled “Feel the Burn: Getting Our Regulatory World into Shape.” The keynote speaker was Scott W. Tinker, Ph.D., director of the Texas Bureau of Economic Geology and the Texas state geologist, and a geology professor at the University of Texas at Austin. He spoke about the global energy picture. Additional panels covered renewable energy, wind generation, intervener perspectives in regulatory matters, the Marcellus Shale, and legal ethics. The program was organized by Thomas C. Walker Jr., vice chair of the section, and provided eight continuing legal education credits, including two in ethics.

Annual Meeting CLE program
The Administrative Law Section cosponsored a CLE program, “The Search for New Sources of Energy,” with the Environmental Law Section at the Virginia State Bar Annual Meeting. Louis R. Monacell spearheaded the section’s organization of the program and Arlen L. Bolstad, a member of the section board of governors, served as moderator. Speakers included Mary Doswell of Dominion Virginia Power; Caleb A. Jaffe of the Southern Environmental Law Center; Maureen F.R. Matsen, the deputy secretary of natural resources; and Carol Warner of the Department of Environmental Quality.

Annual Brown Bag Luncheon CLE Program
On April 13, 2011, the Administrative Law Section held its Annual Brown Bag Luncheon CLE Program, titled “Mediating Successful Solutions in Administrative Law.” The program was organized by past chair Vishwa B. Link and moderated by board member Mark C. Shuford. Speakers included Virginia Supreme Court Senior Justice Elizabeth B. Lacy; Robert W. O’Neal, an administrative law judge with the Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control; and Brooke A.C. Hunter, deputy commissioner of the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission.

The Administrative Law Section published an issue of the Administrative Law News in December 2010. Ashley B. Macko served as the newsletter editor, and the issue included articles on Federal Energy Regulatory Commission rule making, the Marcellus Shale, renewable energy projects, non-utility gas service providers, uranium mining in Virginia, integrated resource planning, a renewable portfolio standard case, and a review of Appalachian Power Company’s rate case. The next issue is expected in the summer of 2011.

The Administrative Law Section continued to maintain and update its website, including current and past issues of Administrative Law News, information concerning past National Regulatory Conferences, upcoming events, and a membership application.

Officers and new board members
The Administrative Law Section elected officers and board members at its annual meeting, held during the NRC. New officers are Thomas C. Walker Jr., chair; Louis R. Monacell, vice chair; Samuel R. Brumberg, secretary; and Ashley B. Macko, newsletter editor. Meera Ahamed and K. Beth Clowers were to the board.

Updated: Aug 08, 2011