The Clients’ Protection Fund Board

Susan Bradford Tarley, Chair

The Clients’ Protection Fund was established in 1976 to make monetary awards to people who have suffered financial losses because of the dishonest conduct of Virginia lawyers. The fund is managed by a fourteen-member board appointed by the Virginia State Bar Council.  Board members investigate all petitions from clients for payments from the fund. The Board hears each petition and determines the amount of loss.

As of July 1, 2018, twenty-three (23) claims were pending from the previous year. In FY 2019, forty-four (44) new petitions were received. The total amount paid during 2018-2019 was $132,303.48 representing twenty-five (25) claims. The Board denied seventeen (17) petitions, and twelve (12) petitions were rejected for not meeting the CPF rule requirements. One (1) claim was withdrawn by the petitioner and one (1) conditional approval claim was closed by the Board.  As of June 30, 2019, there were eleven (11) pending claims. The Board reviewed and investigated forty-five (45) claims during the year.  

 The fund began the fiscal year on July 1, 2018, with a cash balance of $9,765,666.08.  The Clients’ Protection Fund $10 assessment from all active attorneys totaled $329,250.00. Interest income for the fiscal year, totaled $183,992.07.  The fund received restitution from the attorney general’s collections, debt set-off, and individual restitutions in the amount of $16,069.49 net of attorney’s fees for collection services. As of June 30, 2019, the cash balance in the fund is $10,157,965.91. 

The Board is to be commended for the many hours spent investigating and deliberating claims, and for the work of its various committees including the public awareness and strategic planning committees.  

Appreciation is extended to retiring board members Donna Sue Baker, Adam D. Elfenbein, Margaret A. Nelson and Kenneth Murov after their years of service on the Board. 

The Board welcomes Joseph Meek Bowen, Christopher Anthony Corbett, Brian Dean Lytle and Lisa Ann Wilson as new members for fiscal year 2019-2020.

Updated: Jul 31, 2019