Minutes of the Seventy-second Annual Meeting

President Jon D. Huddleston called the General Session of the Seventy-second Annual Meeting of the Virginia State Bar to order at 9:10 a.m. on Saturday, June 19, 2010, at the Cavalier Beach Club, adjacent to the Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel in Virginia Beach.  He introduced Irving M. Blank, the incoming president, who had been sworn in the previous evening by his son, Jonathan T. Blank, an attorney with McGuireWoods LLP. Mr. Irving Blank reported on the actions of the VSB Council at its meeting on June 17.

Introduction of President-elect Shanks

Mr. Blank introduced George Warren Shanks of Luray, incoming president-elect.  Mr. Shanks made brief remarks.  On a motion made, seconded, and unanimously approved, George Warren Shanks was formally elected president-elect for the 2010-11 bar year.

Tradition of Excellence Award

V. R. “Shack” Shackelford III of Orange received the General Practice Section’s Tradition of Excellence Award. Gail Starling Marshall made introductory remarks and presented the award.  The award is given each year by the General Practice Section to a lawyer who exemplifies outstanding professional and public service.

Fifty-Year Awards

Mr. Huddleston recognized the attorneys who have achieved fifty years of service as members in good standing of the Virginia State Bar.  The fifty-year award recipients and their families were invited to attend a breakfast in their honor, during which certificates were presented to each recipient.  Photographs were taken of the recipients.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:30 a.m.
Updated: Jan 10, 2011