Frequently Asked Questions
What does the pre-paid $35.00 consultation fee cover?
The $35.00 fee, which is collected by the VLRS at time of referring, entitles the referred caller to an up to one half-hour (30 minute) consultation with a VLRS attorney that is a VSB member in good standing. The up to one-half-hour consultation may be by phone or in person. There is no obligation on either party to go beyond the initial consultation.
How soon after a referral is made will the consultation take place?
The VLRS asks that the referred caller allow at least 48 business hours after the initial contact with the attorney’s office for the attorney to return the call and/or to schedule a phone or office appointment.
Will the referred caller be entitled to an up to one-half–hour (30 minute) consultation with the VLRS attorney, even if the referred attorney is not available for representation?
Yes. The $35.00 pre-paid fee entitles the referred caller to an up to one half-hour (30 minute) consultation with the VLRS attorney to address the referred caller’s legal questions and concerns. The consultation is not contingent on representation by VLRS attorney. Neither the referred caller nor the referred attorney is obligated to go beyond the initial consultation.
If the referred attorney is unavailable to consult with the referred caller in person or by phone, what should the referred caller do and what happens to the pre-paid $35.00 consult fee?
The referred caller should contact the VLRS again and VLRS will make another attorney referral to another VLRS attorney at no additional cost. Or, if agreeable with the referred caller, the referred VLRS attorney may refer the referred caller to another VLRS attorney within their law office for the initial consultation.
Will the VLRS attorney contact the referred caller to schedule a consultation?
No. Due to the sometimes sensitive and confidential nature of the caller’s inquiries, it will be the referred caller’s responsibility to make the initial phone contact with VLRS attorney to schedule the phone or office consultation. The VLRS attorney must at all times respect the confidentially of the referred caller who may not wish to be called at home or in the workplace.
Is the VLRS attorney referral based on income eligibility?
No. The VLRS will refer to anyone 18 years or older that wishes to consult with an attorney that is a VSB member in good standing and that pays the pre-paid consult fee of $35.00. Referrals to VLRS attorneys are made based on callers requested Virginia geographical location and requested area of legal practice.
Download VLRS application (PDF file)
Watch the video! For more information about VLRS, view the Virginia State Bar Video Brief.*
*Information in the VSB Video Brief does not reflect changes after January 1, 2015.
Updated: January 29, 2015