Virginia State Bar

An agency of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Adjust Text Size:   A   A

Real Property

A Section of the Virginia State Bar.

Area Representatives

Central Region

Steven W. Blaine
LeClairRyan, P.C.
P.O. Box 2017
123 Main Street
8th Floor
Charlottesville, VA 22902-2017
(434) 971-7771
email: sblaine@leclairryan.com

Tara R. Boyd
Boyd & Sipe, P.L.C.
126 Garrett Street
Suite A
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(804) 248-8713
email: tara@boydandsipe.com

Richard B. “Rick” Chess
Chess Law Firm, P.L.C.
2727 Buford Road, Suite D
Richmond, VA 23235
(804) 241-9999 (cell)
email: rick@chesslawfirm.com
Connor J. Childress
Scott Kroner, P.L.C.
418 E. Water Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 296-2161
email: cchildress@scottkroner.com
Kathy Tyree Crain
L. Anderson Hughes, Jr. Law Office
1326 Alverser Plaza
Midlothian, VA 23113
(804) 794-4300 ext. 12
email: Kathy@lahughesjr.com
Douglass W. Dewing*†
P.O. Box 38037
Henrico, VA 23231
(804) 795-1209
email: douglassdewing@gmail.com
Michele R. Freemyers
Leggett, Simon, Freemyers & Lyon, PLC
Counsel to: Ekko Title, L.C.
1931 Plank Road, Suite 208
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
(540) 899-1992
email: mfreemyers@ekkotitle.com
Barbara Wright Goshorn
Barbara Wright Goshorn, P.C.
203 Main Street
P.O. Box 177
Palmyra, VA 22963
(434) 589-2694
email: bgoshorn@goshornlaw.com
J. Philip Hart*
Vice President & Investment Counsel
Legal Department
Genworth
6620 West Broad Street
Building #1
Richmond, VA 23230
(804) 922-5161
email: philip.hart@genworth.com
Randy C. Howard*
11437 Barrington Bridge Ct.
Richmond, VA 23233
(804) 337-1878 (cell)
email: randychoward@msn.com
Paul D. Jay
Hunton & Williams LLP
Riverfront Plaza, East Tower
951 East Byrd Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 787-8028
email: pjay@hunton.com
Timothy I. Kelsey
Wood Rogers PLC
P.O. Box 2496
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 220-6830
email: tkelsey@woodsrogers.com

Neil S. Kessler*
Troutman Sanders, L.L.P.
P.O. Box 1122
Richmond, VA 23218-1122
(804) 697-1450
email: neil.kessler@troutmansanders.com

Otto W. Konrad
Williams Mullen
200 South 10th Street
Suite 1600
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 420-6093
email: okonrad@williamsmullen.com

Michael P. Lafayette
Lafayette, Ayers & Whitlock, PLC
10160 Staples Mill Road, Suite 105
Glen Allen, VA 23060
(804) 545-6250 (main) (804) 545-6253 (direct)
email: MLafayette@lawplc.com
Larry J. McElwain*†
Scott Kroner, PLC
418 East Water Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902-2737
(434) 296-2161
email: lmcelwain@scottkroner.com
C. Grice McMullan, Jr. *†
Thompson & McMullan, P.C.
100 Shockhoe Slip
3rd Floor
Richmond, VA 23219-4140
(804) 698-6203
email: cgmcmullan@t-mlaw.com
Hope V. Payne
Scott Kroner, PLC
418 East Water Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902-2737
(434) 296-2161
email: hpayne@scottkroner.com
Collison F. Royer
Royer Caramanis & McDonough
200-C Garrett Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 260-8767
email: croyer@rcmplc.com
Lori H. Schweller
LeClairRyan
123 East Main Street
Eighth Floor
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 245-3448
email: Lori.Schweller@leclairryan.com
Susan H. Siegfried*
5701 Sandstone Ridge Terrace
Midlothian, VA 23112
(804) 739-8853
email: shs5701@comcast.net
John W. Steele
Hirschler Fleischer
Federal Reserve Bank Building
701 East Byrd Street
Richmond, VA 23219
or
P. O. Box 500
Richmond, VA 23218-0500
(804) 771-9565
email: jsteele@hf-law.com
J. Page Williams
Lenhart Pettit P.C.
530 East Main Street
P.O. Box 2057
Charlottesville, VA 22902-2057
(434) 817-7973
email: jpw@lplaw.com
Stephen B. Wood
Bierman, Geesing & Ward, L.L.C.
81200 Three Chopt Road
Room 240
Richmond, VA 23229-4833
(804) 282-0463
email: Stephen.Wood@bgw-llc.com
Northern Region
Dianne Boyle
Chicago Title Insurance Company
2000 M Street, NW
Suite 610
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 263-4745
email: boyled@ctt.com
Todd E. Condron
Ekko Title
410 Pine Street, SE
Suite 220
Vienna, VA 22180
(703) 537-0800
email: tcondron@ekkotitle.com

Henry Matson Coxe, IV
Fidelity National Law Group
8100 Boone Blvd
Suite 610
Vienna, VA 22182
(703) 245-0284
email: Matson.Coxe@fnf.com

Diana Helen D’Alessandro
Pesner Kawamoto PLC
7926 Jones Branch Drive
Suite 930
Tysons Corner, VA 22102
(703) 506-9440 ext. 245
email: ddalessandro@pesnerkawamoto.com

Lawrence A. Daughtrey
Kelly & Daughtrey
10605 Judicial Drive
Suite A-3
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 273-1950
email: ldaught@aol.com
Pamela B. Fairchild
Attorney at Law
Fairchild Law, PLC
526 King Street, Suite 201
Alexandria, VA 22314
571-249-1300  
email: pam@fairchild-law.com 
Jack C. Hanssen
Moyes & Associates, P.L.L.C.
21 North King Street
Leesburg, VA 20176-2819
(703) 777-6800
email: jack@moyeslaw.com
George A. Hawkins
Dunlap Bennett & Ludwig
8300 Boone Boulevard, #550
Vienna, VA 22182
(703) 777-7319 (main) (571) 252-8521 (direct)
email: ghawkins@dbllawyers.com
John H. Hawthorne
Protorae Law, P.L.L.C.
1921 Gallows Road
Suite 850
Tysons, VA 22182
(703) 942-6147
email: jhawthorne@protoraelaw.com
Benjamin D. Leigh
Atwill, Troxell & Leigh, PC
50 Catoctin Circle NE, Ste. 303
Leesburg, VA 20176
(703) 777-4000
email: bleigh@atandlpc.com
Paul H. Melnick*
Pesner Kawamoto
7926 Jones Branch Drive, Suite 930
Tysons Corner, VA 22102
(703) 506-9440
email: pmelnick@pesnerkawamoto.com
Andrew A. Painter
Walsh Colucci Lubeley & Walsh PC
One East Market Street
Suite 300
Leesburg, VA 20176-3014
(703) 737-3633 ext. 5775
email: apainter@thelandlawyers.com
Susan M. Pesner*†
Pesner Kawamoto, P.L.C.
7926 Jones Branch Drive
Suite 930
McLean, VA 22102-3303
(703) 506-9440
email: spesner@pesnerkawamoto.com
Sarah Louppe Petcher
General Counsel
Northern Virginia Association of Realtors®
6641 Locust Street
Falls Church, VA 22046
(703) 207-3200
email: spetcher@nvar.com
Michelle A. Rosati
Holland & Knight
1650 Tysons Boulevard
Suite 1700
Tysons, VA 22102
(703) 720-8079
email: michelle.rosati@hklaw.com
Jordan M. Samuel
Asmar, Schor & McKenna, P.L.L.C.
5335 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W.
Suite 400
Washington, D.C. 20015
(202) 244-4264
email: jsamuel@asm-law.com
Lawrence M. Schonberger*
Sevila, Saunders, Huddleston & White, P.C.
30 North King Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
(703) 777-5700
email: LSchonberger@sshw.com
David W. Stroh
2204 Golf Course Drive
Reston, VA 20191
(703) 716-4573
email: davidwstroh@gmail.com
Lucia Anna Trigiani†
MercerTrigiani
112 South Alfred Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
(703) 837-5000 (703) 837-5008 (direct)
email: Pia.Trigiani@MercerTrigiani.com
Benjamin C. Winn, Jr.
Benjamin C. Winn, Jr, Esquire PLC
3701 Pender Drive
Suite 300
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 652-9719
email: bwinn@nvrinc.com
Eric V. Zimmerman
Rogan Miller Zimmerman, P.L.L.C.
50 Catoctin Circle, NE
Suite 333
Leesburg, VA 20176
(703) 777-8850
email: ezimmerman@rmzlawfirm.com

 

 

Southside Region

Robert E. Hawthorne, Jr.
Hawthorne & Hawthorne
1805 Main Street
P. O. Box 931
Victoria, VA 23974
(434) 696-2139
email: robert@hawthorne.law
Thomson Lipscomb
Attorney at Law
89 Bank Street
P. O. Box 310
Boydton, VA 23917
(434) 738-0440
email: janersl@kerrlake.com

Tidewater Region

Ali T. Anwar
Kase & Associates, P.C.
200 Bendix Road
Suite 150
Virginia Beach, VA 23452
(703) 385-9875 ext. 474 (main)
(703) 385-3170 (direct)
email: alia@kaselawyers.com
Robert C. Barclay, IV
Cooper, Spong & Davis, P.C.
P.O. Box 1475
Portsmouth, VA 23705
(757) 397-3481
email: rbarclay@portslaw.com
Michael E. Barney*
Kaufman & Canoles, P.C
P.O. Box 626
Virginia Beach, VA 23451-0626
(757) 491-4040
email: mebarney@kaufcan.com
Paula S. Caplinger*†
Vice President and Tidewater Agency Counsel
Chicago Title Insurance Company
Fidelity National Title Group
P.O. Box 6500
Newport News, VA 23606
(757) 508-8889
email: caplingerP@ctt.com
Brian O. Dolan
Brian Dolan Law Offices, PLLC
12610 Patrick Henry Drive, Ste. C
Newport News, VA 23602
(757) 320-0257
email: brian.dolan@briandolanlaw.com
Alyssa C. Embree
Williams Mullen
999 Waterside Drive
Suite 1700
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 629-0631
email: aembree@williamsmullen.com
Howard E. Gordon*†
Williams Mullen
999 Waterside Drive
Suite 1700
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 629-0607
email: hgordon@williamsmullen.com
Ann A. Gourdine
115 High Street
Portsmouth, VA 23704
(757) 397-6000
email: aagourdine@gmail.com
Naveed Kalantar
Pender & Coward, P.C.
117 Market Street
Suffolk, VA 23434
(757) 490-6251
email: nkalantar@pendercoward.com
Ray W. King
LeClairRyan, P.C.
999 Waterside Drive
Suite 2100
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 624-1454 (main) (757) 441-8929 (direct)
email: ray.king@leclairryan.com
Charles (Chip) E. Land*
Kaufman & Canoles, P.C.
P.O. Box 3037
Norfolk, VA 23514-3037
(757) 624-3131
email: celand@kaufcan.com
Charles M. Lollar*
Lollar Law, P.L.L.C.
Virginia Bar No. 17009
North Carolina Bar No. 7861
P. O. Box 11274
Norfolk, VA 23517
(757) 644-4657 (office) (757) 735-0777 (cell)
email: Chuck@Lollarlaw.com
Christina E. Meier
Christina E. Meier, P.C.
4768 Euclid Road
Suite 102
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
(757) 313-1161
email: cmeier@cmeierlaw.com
Jean D. Mumm*
LeClairRyan, P.C.
999 Waterside Drive
Suite 2100
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 441-8916 (direct) (757) 681-5302 (cell)
email: Jean.Mumm@leclairryan.com
Christy L. Murphy
Kaufman & Canoles, P.C.
150 West Main Street, Suite 2100
Post Office Box 3037
Norfolk, VA 23514
(757) 624-3177
email: clmurphy@kaufcan.com
Cynthia A. Nahorney
Fidelity National Title Insurance Corporation
Commonwealth Land Title Insurance Company
150 West Main Street
Suite 1615
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 216-0491
email: Cynthia.nahorney@fnf.com
William L. Nusbaum
WilliamsMullen
1700 Dominion Tower
999 Waterside Drive
Norfolk, VA 23510-3303
(757) 629-0612
email: wnusbaum@williamsmullen.com
Harry R. Purkey, Jr.
303 34th Street
Suite 5
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
(757) 428-6443
email: hpurkey@hrpjrpc.com
Cartwright R. “Cart” Reilly
Williams Mullen
222 Central Park Ave.
Suite 1700
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
(757) 473-5312
email: creilly@williamsmullen.com
Stephen R. Romine*
LeClairRyan, P.C.
999 Waterside Drive
Suite 2100
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 624-1454 (main) (757) 441-8921 (direct)
email: sromine@leclairryan.com
William W. Sleeth, III
LeClairRyan, P.C.
5388 Discovery Park Boulevard
3rd Floor
Williamsburg, VA 23188
(757) 941-2821
email: william.sleeth@leclairryan.com
Allen C. Tanner, Jr.
701 Town Center Drive
Suite 800
Newport News, VA 23606
(757) 595-9000
email: atanner@jbwk.com
Andrae J. Via
Senior Corporate Counsel
Ferguson Enterprises, Inc.
12500 Jefferson Avenue
Newport News, VA 23602
(757) 969-4170
email: andrae.via@ferguson.com
Susan S. Walker*
Jones, Walker & Lake
128 S. Lynnhaven Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23452
(757) 486-0333
email: swalker@jwlpc.com
Edward R. Waugaman†
1114 Patrick Lane
Newport News, VA 23608
(757) 897-6581
email: edward.waugaman@verizon.net
Mark D. Williamson
McGuireWoods, L.L.P.
World Trade Center
Suite 9000
101 W. Main Street
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 640-3713
email: mwilliamson@mcguirewoods.com

Valley Region

K. Wayne Glass
Poindexter Hill, P.C.
P.O. Box 235
Staunton, VA 24402-0235
(540) 943-1118
email: kwg24402@gmail.com
James L. Johnson
Wharton Aldhizer & Weaver, P.L.C.
100 South Mason Street
P.O. Box 20028
Harrisonburg, VA 22801
(540) 434-0316
email: jjohnson@wawlaw.com
Paul J. Neal
122 West High Street
Woodstock, VA 22664
(540) 459-4041
email: neallaw@shentel.net

Mark N. Reed
Reed & Reed, P.C.
16 S. Court Street
P.O. Box 766
Luray, VA 22835
(540) 743-5119
email: lawspeaker@earthlink.net

Western Region
David C. Helscher*†
Osterhoudt, Prillaman, Natt, Helscher, Yost,
Maxwell & Ferguson, P.L.C.
3140 Chaparral Drive
Suite 200 C
Roanoke, VA 24018
(540) 725-8182
email: dhelscher@opnlaw.com
C. Cooper Youell, IV*
Whitlow & Youell, P.L.C.
28A West Kirk Avenue
Roanoke, VA 24011
(540) 904-7836
email: cyouell@whitlowyouell.com
C. Cooper Youell, IV*
Whitlow & Youell, P.L.C.
28A West Kirk Avenue
Roanoke, VA 24011
(540) 904-7836
email: cyouell@whitlowyouell.com
 
Honorary Area Representatives (Inactive)

Joseph M. Cochran*
177 Oak Hill Circle
Sewanee, TN 37375

Robert E. Hawthorne*
Hawthorne & Hawthorne
P.O. Box 603
Kenbridge, VA 23944
(434) 676-3275
(Kenbridge Office)
(434) 696-2139
(Victoria Office)
email: rehawthorne@hawthorne-hawthorne.com
Edward B. Kidd*
Troutman Sanders Building
1001 Haxall Point
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 697-1445
email: ed.kidd@troutmansanders.com
James B. (J.B.) Lonergan*
Pender & Coward, P.C.
222 Central Park Avenue
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
(757) 490-6281
email: jlonerga@pendercoward.com
Michael M. Mannix*
Holland & Knight, L.L.P.
Suite 700
1600 Tysons Boulevard
McLean, VA 22102
(703) 720-8024
email: michael.mannix@hklaw.com
R. Hunter Manson*
R. Hunter Manson, P.L.C.
P.O. Box 539
Reedville, VA 22539
(804) 453-5600
G. Michael Pace, Jr. *
General Counsel
Roanoke College
Office of the President
221 College Lane
Salem, VA 24153
(540) 375-2047
email: gpace@roanoke.edu
Joseph W. Richmond, Jr*†
McCallum & Kudravetz, P.C.
250 East High Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 293-8191 (main) (434) 220-5999 (direct)
email: jwr@mkpc.com
Michael K. Smeltzer*
Woods, Rogers & Hazlegrove, L.C.
P.O. Box 14125
Roanoke, VA 24038
(540) 983-7652
email: smeltzer@woodsrogers.com
 

[Note: As used herein, a Nathan1 (*) denotes a past Chair of the Section, and a dagger (†) denotes a past recipient of the Courtland Traver Scholar Award.]

Updated: 10/10/2018