Virginia State Bar

An agency of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Adjust Text Size:   A   A

Local Government

A Section of the Virginia State Bar.

Section News and Information

August 10, 2015

2015 Local Government Section Annual Report

Bonnie M. France, Chair

As of September 16, 2014, the Local Government Law Section had 630 members.

The budget for fiscal year 2014-2015 was $9,520. Revenues collected in fiscal year 2015 exceeded budget and the Section completed the fiscal year with expenses under budget. The budget for fiscal year 2015-2016 is $9,664.

Journal on Local Government Law:
The Section electronically published all four quarterly issues of the Journal of Local Government Law. The Journal provided articles on various and diverse topics, including the Carnell Construction case, hydraulic fracturing, tips for litigating before the Virginia State Corporation Commission, legal considerations in emergency management, cell tower siting, Indian Child Welfare Act, local taxes, Title IX and sexual violence, local government lawyers' participation in state and local bar associations and changes to the Conflict of Interests Act. 

Local Government Fellowship Program for Law Students:
The Section awarded its third annual fellowship in the amount of $4,000 to Shannon Fitzgerald who will be working in the Henrico County Attorney's office for the 2015 summer. The Local Government Law Student Fellowship Committee was chaired by Annie Kim.

New Members:
At the annual meeting on June 19, 2015, the Section elected the following new members to the Board of Governors for terms expiring June 30, 2018:
Cynthia A. Bailey, Senior Assistant County Attorney for Fairfax County
Rebecca D. Kubin, Deputy City Attorney for the City of Virginia Beach
Kevin A. White, Kaufman & Canoles, P.C.

The Section also elected Eric Anthony Gregory, County Attorney for King George County, to a second term ending June 30, 2018.


The Board of Governors, at its annual meeting on June 19, 2015, elected the following officers:

Chairman - Lawrence S. Spencer, Jr., Town Attorney for the Town of Blacksburg
Vice Chairman – Charles Eric Young – County Attorney for Tazewell County
Secretary – Eric Anthony Gregory – County Attorney for King George County

Updated: Jul 27, 2015

For the complete 77th Annual Report of the Virginia State Bar, please visit

May 18, 2016

Award of 2016 Local Government Fellowship

First awarded in 2013, the Local Government Fellowship annually recognizes outstanding Virginia law students who will work full-time during the summer at a local government attorney’s office within the Commonwealth. The applicants for the 2016 Virginia State Bar Local Government Fellowship included one who sat in for fun at city council meetings as a high school student and one who recognizes at an early stage in her legal career how complex, and important, land use regulation is to the health and growth of localities. The Board of Governors is delighted to announce that Lauren Riley and Alyssa D’Angelo have been selected as this year’s Local Government Fellows. 

Both Laruen and Alyssa are rising 2L students at the William & Mary School of Law. Lauren will spend the summer interning at the Hampton City Attorney’s Office. Alyssa will work in the real estate division of the Virginia Beach City Attorney’s Office. In addition to sharing the $4,000 fellowship, Local Government Fellows receive the opportunity to submit a piece for potential publication in the Journal of Local Government Law. Applications for next year’s fellowship will open in January 2017. More information about the VSB Local Government Fellowship is available at the section’s website.

This year's Fact Sheet and Application may be reviewed for informational purposes. 

May 18, 2016

Spring 2016 Journal

The Spring 2016 Journal is available to members under the Publications link.