News and Information
June 21, 2007

Virginia Law Foundation Taps New Officers, Board Members

At its Annual Meeting on June 15th, the Virginia Law Foundation Board of Directors elected John L. Walker, III of Richmond as its President for a one-year term beginning July 1. Mr. Walker, a partner in the litigation section of Williams Mullen (Richmond) has served on the Virginia Law Foundation Board of Directors since 2001.

Mary Ann Delano, a non-lawyer member of the Board and Executive Secretary of the International Association of Business Communicators (Richmond) became President-Elect; Whittington W. Clement, partner at Hunton & Williams and attorney in the government relations practice area, was elected Vice-President; Guy K. Tower, Executive Director of the Virginia Bar Association (Richmond) was elected Secretary; Thomas A. Edmonds, Chief Operating Officer of the Virginia State Bar (Richmond) was elected Treasurer; and Sharon Tatum, the Foundation’s Executive Director (Richmond) was elected Assistant Treasurer.

Current board members Thomas Callahan (Wachovia Securities, Virginia Beach), Roderick B. Mathews (Troutman Sanders, Richmond), and Frank A. Thomas, III (Shackelford Thomas & Gregg, Orange) were elected to a second three-year term ending in 2010 . New members Karen Ann Gould (McSweeney Crump Childress & Gould PC, Richmond) and James V. Meath (Williams Mullen, Richmond) were each elected to serve a three-year term ending in 2010. Kathy Mays Coleman (National Center for State Courts, Williamsburg) was elected to fill a lay member slot for a two-year term ending in 2009.

The Virginia Law Foundation is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization established by the Virginia State Bar in 1974. Currently, both the Virginia State Bar and The Virginia Bar Association nominate members of its board. Its purposes are to advance the science of jurisprudence and improve and promote the administration of justice. As a grant maker, the Foundation has provided over $22 million to support law-related public service projects throughout Virginia.

Also at the annual meeting, the VLF board re-elected Joseph W. Richmond, Jr. of Charlottesville to chair its 12-member Fellows Council for a second one-year term beginning July 1. Richmond, a partner at Richmond & Fishburne (Charlottesville) has served on the Fellows Council since 2001. Stanley G. Barr (Kaufman & Canoles, Norfolk); Marilyn C. Goss (Central Virginia Legal Aid Society, Richmond); Dexter C. Rumsey, III (Rumsey & Bugg PC, Irvington); and Barbara Ann Williams (McGuireWoods LLP, Richmond) were elected as new members of the Fellows Council, to serve until June 2010.

The VLF Board created the Fellows of the VLF to encourage and recognize excellence in the practice of law and public service and to support the programs and objectives of the VLF. Criteria for Fellows selection includes integrity, character, high professional standards, outstanding community involvement, and being distinguished in the practice of law. Fellows membership is limited to 1 percent of the active and associate members of the VSB. The Fellows Council, consisting of a chair and 11 other Fellows, was established in 1993 to serve as the organizing body of the Fellows.

Updated: Jun 21, 2007