Professionalism Course FAQs
The Virginia State Bar Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Course
Frequently Asked Questions
By what authority is the course required?
The Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Course provides the instruction required by Part Six, § IV, ¶ 13.1, Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia.
If I am an associate member, do I need to take the course?
No. Completion of the Professionalism Course is required only for active members of the Virginia State Bar.
What is the time period for completion of the course?
The course must be completed within twelve months of becoming an active member of the Virginia State Bar. For members admitted by bar exam, this is usually one year from the time you register with the Virginia State Bar following notice of your licensure by the Virginia Board of Bar Examiners. Members admitted by reciprocity or as Virginia corporate counsel must complete the course within one year of registering with the Virginia State Bar following being sworn in by the Supreme Court of Virginia.
May I take any ethics course and satisfy this requirement?
No. You must take the Virginia State Bar Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Course. See course dates and locations. (PDF file)
Is the course offered by video, Webcast or teleconference?
No. You must attend the course in person. See course dates and locations. (PDF file)
Is the course approved for CLE credit?
Yes. The Professionalism Course is approved for 5.0 hours of continuing legal education (including 5.0 ethics) credit in Virginia. CLE approval has not been sought in other states, although many states have given credit to individual attorneys.
Will the hours count toward my mandatory CLE requirement?
Yes. The 5.0 hours will count toward your annual requirement of 12.0 hours (including 2.0 ethics) as an active member of the bar. The MCLE year begins November 1 each year.
Will another state’s CLE course fulfill this requirement?
No. Ethics or professionalism courses offered in other states will not satisfy this requirement, but they may count toward your annual MCLE requirement of 12.0 hours (including 2 ethics).
If I do not take the course within twelve months of registering with the VSB as an active member, what happens?
If you have not completed the course within 12 months of becoming an active member, you will receive a notice of delinquency, and you will owe an additional $50 delinquency fee. If you do not take the course in the subsequent sixty days following the notice of delinquency, you will be administratively suspended from the practice of law in Virginia. You will not be reinstated as a member in good standing until you have completed the course and, paid the delinquency fee of $50, as well as an additional reinstatement fee of $150.
How do I request an extension of time in which to complete the course?
If you have an extenuating circumstance that you believe hinders you from attending the course, you may request an extension. Please be aware that extension requests are very rarely granted. Special exceptions are made for out-of-state law clerks and military personnel. These requests must be directed in writing to Maureen Stengel, Course Coordinator, Virginia State Bar, 707 E. Main Street, Suite 1500, Richmond, VA 23219. All other requests should be directed to Ms. Stengel by postal or e-mail (firstname.lastname@example.org).
I am registered for the course, but have lost or did not receive my admission ticket. How do I get another ticket?
To expedite your registration, please e-mail your request for a new admission ticket to ProfessionalismCourse@vsb.org. If the course is less than a week away, you may pick up a duplicate ticket onsite at the event.
How do I change the date of my course registration?
E-mail your request to change dates to ProfessionalismCourse@vsb.org. If it is less than one week prior to your scheduled course, print out the registration form, and mail it in with a $25.00 check (made payable to the Virginia State Bar) for the re-registration fee.
Is there a dress code for the course?
No. There is no prescribed dress code for the course.
May I seek relief from my Professionalism Course obligations under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA)?
Yes, Active Duty members of the bar stationed outside of Virginia may be able to seek relief under the SCRA for Professionalism Course obligations by providing a copy of their orders to the VSB. Please contact ProfessionalismCourse@vsb.org for specific requirements. (50 U.S.C. App. §§501-596, Public Law 108-189)
If you have further questions about the course or the requirement, please contact Maureen Stengel at (804) 775-0517 or send an e-mail to ProfessionalismCourse@vsb.org.