Virginia State Bar

An agency of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Facebook Linked In You Tube Google Plus Twitter

Adjust Text Size:   A   A

Young Lawyers Conference

A Conference of the Virginia State Bar.

Program Chairs

The YLC develops its programs in the areas of service to the bar and service to the public, with an eye toward improving access to justice, the quality of the judicial system and the legal profession. The overall committee structure changes each year by succeeding Presidents, with new programs being regularly added to existing programs in order to address the immediate needs of the profession and the public.

Committee Descriptions (.pdf)

Project Planning (.doc)
 

VIRGINIA STATE BAR YOUNG LAWYERS CONFERENCE
Program Chairs 2014-2015

SERVICE TO THE BAR

ADMISSION AND ORIENTATIONCEREMONY
Liaison:
Craig Kemper

Chair:

 

 

Robert Michaux
Spotts Fain, PC
411 E. Franklin St., Suite 600
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 697-2066
rmichaux@spottsfain.com

Sponsors Coordinators:

Melissa Brennen Adams
Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office
150 N. Sycamore Street
Petersburg, VA 23803
(804) 861-8899
melissavbrennan@yahoo.com

Volunteer Coordinator:
S. Spencer Katona
Spotts Fain PC
411 E Franklin St Ste 600
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 697-2032
skatona@spottsfain.com

ANNUAL MEETING
Co-Liaison:
Maureen Danker
Co-Liaison: Jennifer Haberlin

Program Chair:
Andrea C. Davison

Bean Kinney & Korman PC
Seventh Floor
2300 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, VA 22201
(703) 284-7277
adavison@beankinney.com

Athletics Chair:
Laura M. O'Brien

Kelly Byrnes & Danker, PLLC
Suite 275N
3975 Fair Ridge Drive
Fairfax, VA 22033
703-224-0888
lobrien@kbdfamilylaw.com

BENCH/BAR CELEBRATION DINNER
Co-Liaison:
Lakai Vinson
Co-Liaison: Farnaz F. Thompson

Co- Chair:
Melissa Y. ("Missy") York

Morris & Morris, P.C.
P.O. Box 30
Richmond, Virginia 23218
(804) 344-6346
myork@morrismorris.com

Co- Chair:
Nerissa N. Rouzer
Morris & Morris, PC
P.O. Box 30
Richmond, VA 23218
(804 ) 344-6349
nrouzer@morrismorris.com

BOARD MATCH
Co-Liaison:
Edwin Wu
Co-Liaison: Alex Cloud

Co-Chair:
Melissa A. Hamann

805 Cheshire Forest Drive
Chesapeake, VA 23322
619-990-6529
melissa.a.hamann@gmail.com

Co-Chair:
Christopher C. Johnson
Johnson & Johnson, Attorneys at Law
P.O. Box 100
Rockville, VA 23146
(804) 314-1996
chris@johnsonlawva.com

Regional Chairs:
Northern Virginia:

Camille A. Stewart
1001 3rd Street, SW #812
Washington, DC 20024
216-409-0484
stewarc3@gmail.com

Aaron J. Casavant
7623 Wiley Drive
Lorton, VA 22079
973-769-6355
Aaron.Casavant@gmail.com

Brittany K. Mohler
2251 Eisenhower Ave # 415
Alexandria, VA 22314
703-539-2568
britmohler@gmail.com

Richmond:

Richard (Tony) Quitiquit
Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office
District Court Building
7515 Library Drive
Hanover, VA 23069
(804) 365-6185
tonyquitiquit@gmail.com

Hunter R. Wells
Canfield, Baer & Heller, LLP
2201 Libbie Ave., Ste. 200
Richmond, VA 23230
(804) 673-6600
hwells@canfieldbaer.com

Southwestern Virginia:
Carrie M. Harris
Spilman Thomas & Battle, PLLC
310 First Street, Suite 1100
P.O. Box 90
Roanoke, VA 24002-0090
(540) 512.1829
charris@spilmanlaw.com
Hampton Roads:
[VACANT]

DOCKET CALL
Co-Liaison:
Jennifer Moccia
Co-Liaison: Nathan Olson

Editor:
Patrick Austin
Shapiro, Lewis, Appleton & Duffan, P.C.
1294 Diamond Springs Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
757-460-7776
paustin@hsinjurylaw.com

FIRST DAY IN PRACTICE SEMINAR
Liaison:
David Irvine

Chair:
Everett L. Bensten, Esq.

Hampton City Attorney's Office
8th Floor
22 Lincoln Street
Hampton, VA 23669
everett.bensten@gmail.com

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT CONFERENCE
Co-Liaison:
Chris Fortier
Co-Liaison: Edwin Wu

Chairs:
Melissa Alfano (Washington DC)
Jennings Strouss
1350 Eye St, NW Suite 810
Washington, DC
202-370-0138
alfano.melissa@gmail.com

Joel R. McClellan (Richmond)
Marks & Harrison
1500 Forest Ave Ste 100
Richmond, VA 23229-5104
804-282-0999
jmcclellan@marksandharrison.co

(Virginia Beach)
[Vacant]

SERVICE TO THE PUBLIC

COMMUNITY LAW WEEK
Co-Liaison:
David Irvine
Co-Liaison: Regenea Hurte

Chair:
[Vacant]

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE SAFETY PROJECT
Liaison:
Paula Bowen

Chair:
Elizabeth H. Cooper
134 W. Court Street
P.O. Box 149
Woodstock, VA 22664
540-459-9021
coopereh@gmail.com

Vice-Chair:
Kristen Pettibone

7612 Timberlake Rd.
#324
Lynchburg, VA 24502
434-477-6488
kpettibone@liberty.edu

EMERGENCY LEGAL SERVICES
Co-Liaison:
Craig Kemper
Co-Liaison: Dean Lhospital

Co -Chair:
Jessica L. Hacker Trivizas
McCandlish Holton, P.C.
P.O. Box 796
Richmond, VA 23218
(804) 775-3893
jtrivizas@lawmh.com

Co -Chair:
Sarah Elise Cox, Esq.
Dept. of Professional and Occupational Regulation
Suite 400
9960 Mayland Drive
Richmond, VA 23233
(804) 367-4864
sarah.cox@dpor.virginia.gov

IMMIGRANT OUTREACH
Liaison:
Dean Lhospital

Co-Chair:
Giovanni DiMaggio

1316 C Street SE
Washington, DC 20003
(201) 240-7366
giodimaggio@gmail.com

Co-Chair:
Jamilah D. Le Cruise
Suite 600
125 ST. Paul's Blvd
Norfolk, VA 23510
(804) 516-4839
jdlecruise@gmail.com

LEGAL HANDBOOK FOR CANCER SURVIVORS
Co-Liaison:
Regenea Hurte
Co-Liaison: Dean Lhospital

Chair:
Kristi Cahoon Kelly
Kelly & Crandall, PLC
Suite 202A
4084 University Drive
Fairfax, VA 22030
kkelly@kellyandcrandall.com
703-424-7570

MENTAL HEALTH LAW
Co-Liaison:
Dean Lhospital
Co-Liaison: Regenea Hurte

Co-Chair:
Shayla N. McGee Sipp
FEMA, Office of Chief Counsel
Personnel Law Branch (East)
Mission Support Division
(202) 212-5288
shayla.sipp@fema.dhs.gov

Co-Chair:
Elizabeth A. Hafey
1200 South Conkling St., Apt. 246
Baltimore, MD 21224
(240) 463-9351
ehafey@gdldlaw.com

MINORITY PRE-LAW CONFERENCE
Co-Liaison: Brian Wesley
Co-Liaison: Lindsey Coley

Northern Virginia

Co-Chairs:
Nichelle T. Charles

5021 Seminary Rd Apt 311
Alexandria, VA 22311
(302) 367-4085
nichelle.charles@gmail.com

Aaron V. Gleaton
8710 Cameron Street
Unit 1225
Silver Spring, MD 20910
704-351-5756
avgleaton@gmail.com

Hampton Roads

Chair:
Shemeka C. Hankins

Office of the Norfolk Commonwealth’s Attorney
800 E. City Hall Ave, Ste 600
Norfolk, VA 23510
757-664-4811
Shemeka.hankins@norfolk.gov

NO BILLS NIGHT
Co-Liaison:
Alex Cloud
Co-Liaison: Monique Miles

Statewide Chair:

Seth M. Land
PennStuart
P.O. Box 2288
Abingdon, VA 24212
(276) 628-5151
sland@pennstuart.com

Regional Chairs:

(1) Abingdon:

Holly N. Mancl
Penn Stuart
804 Anderson Street
Bristol, TN 37620
(423) 793-4800
hmancl@pennstuart.com

(2) Charlottesville

[Vacant]

(3) Danville

Rachael A. Sanford
Clement & Wheatley, P.C.
549 Main Street
P.O. Box 8200
Danville, VA 24543-8200
(434) 793-8200
Sanfordr@clementwheatley.com

(4) Fredericksburg

[Vacant]

(5) Lexington/Staunton

[Vacant]

[Vacant]

(6) Lynchburg

[Vacant]

(7) Northern VA

Kabara Korth Praskavich
The Roop Law Firm, PLLC
Suite 460
1604 Spring Hill Road
Vienna, VA 22182
703-442-0040
kabara@rooplaw.com
(8) Roanoke D. Adam McKelvey
Crandall and Katt
366 Elm Ave, SW
Roanoke, VA 24016
dmckelvey@crandalllaw.com
540-342-2000

(9) Richmond

James B. Olmsted
Spotts Fain PC
Suite 600
411 East Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 873-7758
jolmsted@spottsfain.com

(10) Tidewater

Shemeka C. Hankins
Office of the Norfolk Commonwealth’s Attorney
800 E. City Hall Ave, Ste 600
Norfolk, VA 23510
757-664-4811
Shemeka.hankins@norfolk.gov

(11) Winchester

[Vacant]

OLIVER HILL/SAMUEL TUCKER LAW INSTITUTE
Co-Liaison:
Lakai Vinson
Co-Liaison: Providence Napoleon

Chair:
[Vacant]

RULE OF LAW DAY AT THE CAPITOL:
Liaison:
Farnaz F. Thompson

Co-Chair:
Justin M. Sheldon

Spencer LLP
6806 Paragon Place
Richmond, VA 23230
804-285-5228
jsheldon@spencerllp.com

Co-Chair:
Gabriel “Gabe” A. Walker
LeClair Ryan
951 E Byrd St, 8th Fl
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 343-4074
Gabriel.Walker@leclairryan.com

WILLS FOR HEROES
Co-Liaison:
Jennifer Moccia
Co-Liaison: Lindsey Coley

Co-Chair:
Michael-Vincent Ramos Abejuela

MRA, PLLC
575 Legacy Pride Drive
Herndon, VA 20170
(703) 672-0015
mabejuela@arin.net

Co-Chair:
Joel W. Morgan

Brenner, Evans & Millman, P.C.
P.O. Box 470
Richmond, VA 23218-0470
(804) 644-1300
jwm@brennerevansmillman.com

Co-Chair:
Jonas A. Callis

PennStuart
1700 Bayberry Court, Suite 100
Richmond, VA 23226
jcallis@pennstuart.com
804-253-9473

COMMISSIONS

CHILDREN AND THE LAW
Co-Liaison:
Ken Alger
Co-Liaison: Paula Bowen

Chair:
Hon. Helen Chong
16th Judicial District, Magisterial Region 4
Department of Judicial Services
Supreme Court of Virginia
540-672-1087
hchong@courts.state.va.us

PRO BONO
Co-Liaison:
Jennifer Haberlin
Co-Liaison: Monique Miles

Chair:
K. Alyse Latour
Morrison & Foerster LLP
Suite 400
1650 Tysons Blvd.
McLean, VA 22102
(703) 760-7763
alatour@mofo.com

WOMEN & MINORITIES IN THE PROFESSION
Co-Liaison:
Lindsey Coley
Co-Liaison: Providence Napoleon

Co-Chair:
Krystle Cobran
Krystle Isabel Cobran, Esq.
305 Kousa Trl
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
(954) 552-0704
Krystlec24@gmail.com

Co-Chair:
Jeree M. Thomas

Legal Aid Justice Center
123 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219
804-521-7310
jeree@justice4all.org

INTERNAL OPERATING COMMITTEES

ABA INVOLVEMENT

Christopher R. Fortier
#102
10218 Bushman Drive
Oakton, VA 22124
(757) 880-1019
Crfortier@gmail.com

Maureen E. Danker
Kelly Byrnes & Danker, PLLC
Suite 275N
3975 Fair Ridge Drive
Fairfax, VA 22033
703-224-0888
mdanker@kbdfamilylaw.com

BUDGET AND FINANCE

Nathan J. Olson
Cooper Ginsberg Gray, PLLC
Suite 520
10201 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 934-1480
nolson@cgglawyers.com

CIRCUIT REPRESENTATIVES

Nathan J. Olson
Cooper Ginsberg Gray, PLLC
Suite 520
10201 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 934-1480
nolson@cgglawyers.com

Brian T. Wesley
Reynolds Wesley, P.C.
P.O. Box 5
Richmond, VA 23218
804-644-2888
bwesley@reynoldswesley.com

Farnaz F. Thompson
Office of the Attorney General
900 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219
804-225-4778
farnazfarkish@gmail.com

GRANTS AND AWARDS

Dean Lhospital
Sneathern & Lhospital
Third Floor
100 Court Square
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 466-7605
dean@cvilletrial.com

MEMBERSHIP INVOLVEMENT

Paula A. Bowen
Martinsville Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office
55 West Church Street
Martinsville, VA 24114
276-403-5470
pbowen@ci.martinsville.va.us

WEBPAGE & FACEBOOK GROUP

Christopher R. Fortier
#102
10218 Bushman Drive
Oakton, VA 22124
(757) 880-1019
Crfortier@gmail.com

FELLOWS PROGRAM LIAISON

Kenneth L. Alger, II
Page County Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office
116 South Court Street, Suite D
Luray, VA 22835
540-743-4517
kennethalger@yahoo.com

NOMINATING COMMITTEE CHAIR

Kenneth L. Alger, II
Page County Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office
116 South Court Street, Suite D
Luray, VA 22835
540-743-4517
kennethalger@yahoo.com

YLC APPOINTMENTS

VIRGINIA CLE COMMITTEE

Dean Lhospital
Sneathern & Lhospital
Third Floor
100 Court Square
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 466-7605
dean@cvilletrial.com

VIRGINIA LEGAL SERVICES CORPORATION

Monique A. Miles
Old Towne Associates, P.C.
2121 Eisenhower Avenue, Suite 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
571-210-5870
moniquemiles08@gmail.com

updated: 8/10/2014