Virginia State Bar

An agency of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Facebook Linked In You Tube Google Plus Twitter

Adjust Text Size:   A   A

Young Lawyers Conference

A Conference of the Virginia State Bar.

Program Chairs

The YLC develops its programs in the areas of service to the bar and service to the public, with an eye toward improving access to justice, the quality of the judicial system and the legal profession. The overall committee structure changes each year by succeeding Presidents, with new programs being regularly added to existing programs in order to address the immediate needs of the profession and the public.

Committee Descriptions (.pdf)

Project Planning (.doc)
 

VIRGINIA STATE BAR YOUNG LAWYERS CONFERENCE
Program Chairs 2013-2014

SERVICE TO THE BAR

ADMISSION AND ORIENTATIONCEREMONY
Co-Liaison:
Craig Kemper
Co-Liaison: Brian Charville

Chair:

 

 

M. Scott Fisher, Jr.
Harman, Claytor, Corrigan & Wellman, P.C.
4951 Lake Brook Drive, Suite 100
Glen Allen, VA 23060
(804) 622-1150
sfisher@hccw.com

Sponsors Coordinators:

Robert Michaux
Spotts Fain, PC
411 E. Franklin St., Suite 600
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 697-2066
rmichaux@spottsfain.com

Melissa Brennen
Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office
150 N. Sycamore Street
Petersburg, VA 23803
(804) 861-8899
melissavbrennan@yahoo.com

Volunteer Coordinator:
S. Spencer Katona
Spotts Fain PC
411 E Franklin St Ste 600
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 697-2032
skatona@spottsfain.com

ANNUAL MEETING
Liaison:
Maureen Danker

Program Chair:
Andrea C. Davison

Bean Kinney & Korman PC
Seventh Floor
2300 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, VA 22201
(703) 284-7277
adavison@beankinney.com

Athletics Chair:
Laura M. O'Brien

Kelly Byrnes & Danker, PLLC
Suite 275N
3975 Fair Ridge Drive
Fairfax, VA 22033
703-224-0888
lobrien@kbdfamilylaw.com
 

BENCH/BAR CELEBRATION DINNER
Co-Liaison:
Lakai Vinson
Co-Liaison: Farnaz Farkish

Co- Chair:
Melissa Y. ("Missy") York

Morris & Morris, P.C.
P.O. Box 30
Richmond, Virginia 23218
(804) 344-6346
myork@morrismorris.com

Co- Chair:
Nerissa N. Rouzer
Morris & Morris, PC
P.O. Box 30
Richmond, VA 23218
(804 ) 344-6349
nrouzer@morrismorris.com

BOARD MATCH
Co-Liaison:
Macel Janoschka
Co-Liaison: Alex Cloud

Co-Chair:
Melissa A. Hamann

Willcox Savage, P.C.
440 Monticello Ave.,
Suite 2200
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 628-5554
mhamann@wilsav.com

Co-Chair:
Christopher C. Johnson
Johnson & Johnson, Attorneys at Law
P.O. Box 100
Rockville, VA 23146
(804) 314-1996
chris@johnsonlawva.com

Regional Chairs:
Northern Virginia:

Camille A. Stewart
1001 3rd Street, SW #812
Washington, DC 20024
216-409-0484
stewarc3@gmail.com

Aaron J. Casavant
7623 Wiley Drive
Lorton, VA 22079
973-769-6355
Aaron.Casavant@gmail.com

Brittany K. Mohler
2251 Eisenhower Ave # 415
Alexandria, VA 22314
703-539-2568
britmohler@gmail.com

Richmond:

Richard (Tony) Quitiquit
Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office
District Court Building
7515 Library Drive
Hanover, VA 23069
(804) 365-6185
tonyquitiquit@gmail.com

Hunter R. Wells
Canfield, Baer & Heller, LLP
2201 Libbie Ave., Ste. 200
Richmond, VA 23230
(804) 673-6600
hwells@canfieldbaer.com

Southwestern Virginia:
Carrie M. Harris
Spilman Thomas & Battle, PLLC
310 First Street, Suite 1100
P.O. Box 90
Roanoke, VA 24002-0090
(540) 512.1829
charris@spilmanlaw.com
Hampton Roads:
[VACANT]

DOCKET CALL
Liaison:
Brooke Rosen

Editor:

Gail M. Deady
McCandlish Holton, PC
1111 E Main St, Ste 1500
PO Box 796
Richmond, VA 23218-0796
804-775-3828
gdeady@lawmh.com

FIRST DAY IN PRACTICE SEMINAR
Liaison:
Andy Geyer

Chair:
Robert Dean

Frith & Ellerman Law Firm, PC
303 Washington Avenue, SW
Roanoke, VA 24016
(540) 985-0098
rdean@frithlawfirm.com

 

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT CONFERENCE
Liaison:
Chris Fortier

Chair:

Edwin J. Wu (Hampton Roads)
1013 Lyndhurst Place
VA Beach, VA 23464
(757) 581-9323
edwinjwu@gmail.com

Melissa Alfano (Washington DC)
Jennings Strouss
1350 Eye St, NW Suite 810
Washington, DC
(202)370-0138
alfano.melissa@gmail.com

SERVICE TO THE PUBLIC

COMMUNITY LAW WEEK
Co-Liaison:
Nathan Olson
Co-Liaison: Regenea Hurte

Chair:

David Irvine
Tremblay & Smith
105-109 High Street
Charlottesville, Virginia 22902
(434) 979-4455
david.irvine@tremblaysmith.com

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE SAFETY PROJECT
Liaison:
Paula Bowen

Chair:

Elizabeth H. Cooper
Page County Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office
116 South Court Street, Suite D
Luray, VA 22835
(540) 743-4517
Ecooper@pagecounty.virginia.gov

EMERGENCY LEGAL SERVICES
Liaison:
Craig Kemper

Chair:

Jessica L. Hacker Trivizas
McCandlish Holton, P.C.
P.O. Box 796
Richmond, VA 23218
(804) 775-3893
jtrivizas@lawmh.com

IMMIGRANT OUTREACH
Liaison:
Dean Lhospital

Co-Chair:
Giovanni DiMaggio

1316 C Street SE
Washington, DC 20003
(201) 240-7366
giodimaggio@gmail.com

Co-Chair:
Jamilah D. Le Cruise
Suite 600
125 ST. Paul's Blvd
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 314-2380 ext. 124
jlecruise@nor.idc.virginia.gov

LEGAL HANDBOOK FOR CANCER SURVIVORS
Liaison:
Regenea Hurte

Chair:

Kristi Cahoon Kelly
Surovell, Markle, Isaacs & Levy, PLC
4010 University Drive, 2nd Floor
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 277-9774
kcahoon@smillaw.com

MENTAL HEALTH LAW
Liaison:
Dean Lhospital

Chair:

Shayla N.McGee Sipp
FEMA, Office of Chief Counsel
Personnel Law Branch (East)
Mission Support Division
(202) 212-5288
shayla.sipp@fema.dhs.gov

MINORITY PRE-LAW CONFERENCE
Co-Liaison: Brian Wesley
Co-Liaison: Lindsay Coley

Northern Virginia

Nichelle T. Charles
5021 Seminary Rd Apt 311
Alexandria, VA 22311
(302) 367-4085
nichelle.charles@gmail.com

Aaron V. Gleaton
8710 Cameron Street
Unit 1225
Silver Spring, MD 20910
704-351-5756
avgleaton@gmail.com

Hampton Roads

Edwin J. Wu
1013 Lyndhurst Place
VA Beach, VA 23464
(757) 581-9323
edwinjwu@gmail.com

Shemeka C. Hankins
Office of the Norfolk Commonwealth’s Attorney
800 E. City Hall Ave, Ste 600
Norfolk, VA 23510
757-664-4811
Shemeka.hankins@norfolk.gov

NO BILLS NIGHT
Co-Liaison:
Alex Cloud
Co-Liaison: Monique Miles

Statewide Chair:

Seth M. Land
PennStuart
P.O. Box 2288
Abingdon, VA 24212
(276) 628-5151
sland@pennstuart.com

Regional Chairs:

(1) Abingdon:

Holly N. Mancl
Penn Stuart
804 Anderson Street
Bristol, TN 37620
(423) 793-4800
hmancl@pennstuart.com

(2) Charlottesville

Timothy Lyons
500 Court Square, Suite 300
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434-951-7222
tlyons@michiehamlett.com

(3) Danville

Rachael A. Sanford
Clement & Wheatley, P.C.
549 Main Street
P.O. Box 8200
Danville, VA 24543-8200
(434) 793-8200
Sanfordr@clementwheatley.com

(4) Fredericksburg

[VACANT]

(5) Lexington/Staunton

Grace C. Crickenberger
H. David Natkin
11 South Randolph Street
Lexington, VA 24450
(540) 464-3283
gracec@rockbridge.net

Graham S. Butler
Timberlake, Smith, Thomas & Moses PC
PO Box 108
Staunton, VA 24402
(540) 885-1517
gbutler@tstm.com

(6) Lynchburg

[VACANT]

(7) Martinsville

[VACANT]

(8) Northern VA

[VACANT]

(9) Richmond

James B. Olmsted
Spotts Fain PC
Suite 600
411 East Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 873-7758
jolmsted@spottsfain.com

(10) Roanoke

[VACANT]

(11) Tidewater

[VACANT]

(12) Winchester

[VACANT]

OLIVER HILL/SAMUEL TUCKER LAW INSTITUTE
Co-Liaison:
Lakai Vinson
Co-Liaison: Farnaz Farkish

Chair:

Providence Napolean
1100 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Cell: 786-797-7222
penapole@gmail.com

STUDENTS DAY AT THE CAPITOL:
Liaison:
Brian Wesley

Co-Chair:
Justin M. Sheldon

LeClairRyan
Riverfront Plaza, East Tower
951 East Byrd Street,
Eighth Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 783-7534
Justin.Sheldon@leclairryan.com

Co-Chair:
Elizabeth Beck Miller
UNOS
700 North 4th Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 782-4800
elizabethbeckmiller@gmail.com

WILLS FOR HEROES
Co-Liaison:
Andy Geyer
Co-Liaison:Brooke Rosen

Co-Chair:
Michael-Vincent Ramos Abejuela

MRA, PLLC
575 Legacy Pride Drive
Herndon, VA 20170
(703) 672-0015
mabejuela@arin.net

Co-Chair:
Joel W. Morgan

Brenner, Evans & Millman, P.C.
P.O. Box 470
Richmond, VA 23218-0470
(804) 644-1300
jwm@brennerevansmillman.com

Co-Chair:
Jonas A. Callis
Frith Anderson & Peake, PC
29 Franklin Road, SW
Roanoke, VA 24011
(540) 772-4600
jcallis@faplawfirm.com

COMMISSIONS

CHILDREN AND THE LAW
Co-Liaison:
Jennifer Moccia
Co-Liaison: Paula Bowen

Chair:

Hon. Helen Chong
15948 Donald Curtis Dr
Woodbridge, VA 22191
(703) 792-7360
hchong@courts.state.va.us

PRO BONO
Co-Liaison:
Jennifer Moccia
Co-Liaison: Monique Miles

Chair:
K. Alyse Latour
Morrison & Foerster LLP
Suite 400
1650 Tysons Blvd.
McLean, VA 22102
(703) 760-7763
alatour@mofo.com

WOMEN & MINORITIES IN THE PROFESSION
Liaison:
Lindsay Coley

Chair:

Krystle Cobran
Krystle Isabel Cobran, Esq.
305 Kousa Trl
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
(954) 552-0704
Krystlec24@gmail.com

HEALTH & THE LAW
Liaison:
Regenea Hurte

Co-Chair:
Shayla N.McGee Sipp

FEMA, Office of Chief Counsel
Personnel Law Branch (East)
Mission Support Division
(202) 212-5288
shayla.sipp@fema.dhs.gov

Co-Chair:
Elizabeth A. Hafey

1200 South Conkling St., Apt. 246
Baltimore, MD 21224
(240) 463-9351
ehafey@gdldlaw.com

INTERNAL OPERATING COMMITTEES

ABA INVOLVEMENT

Brian Charville
Murphy & Riley, P.C.
101 Summer St
Boston, MA 02110
617-423-3700
BCharville@MurphyRiley.com

Maureen E. Danker
Kelly Byrnes & Danker, PLLC
Suite 275N
3975 Fair Ridge Drive
Fairfax, VA 22033
703-224-0888
mdanker@kbdfamilylaw.com

BUDGET AND FINANCE

Maureen E. Danker
Kelly Byrnes & Danker, PLLC
Suite 275N
3975 Fair Ridge Drive
Fairfax, VA 22033
703-224-0888
mdanker@kbdfamilylaw.com

CIRCUIT REPRESENTATIVES

Nathan J. Olson
Cooper Ginsberg Gray, PLLC
Suite 520
10201 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 934-1480
nolson@cgglawyers.com

Maureen E. Danker
Kelly Byrnes & Danker, PLLC
Suite 275N
3975 Fair Ridge Drive
Fairfax, VA 22033
(703) 224-0888
mdanker@kbdfamilylaw.com

Regenea Hurte
Newport News Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office
2501 Washington Avenue, 6th Floor
Newport News, VA 23607
757-926-7223
rahurte@gmail.com

GRANTS AND AWARDS

Nathan J. Olson
Cooper Ginsberg Gray, PLLC
Suite 520
10201 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 934-1480
nolson@cgglawyers.com

MEMBERSHIP INVOLVEMENT

Macel H. Janoschka
Frith Anderson & Peake, PC
29 Franklin Road, SW
PO Box 1240
Roanoke, VA 24006
(540) 725-3372
mjanoschka@faplawfirm.com

WEBPAGE & FACEBOOK GROUP

Christopher R. Fortier
#102
10218 Bushman Drive
Oakton, VA 22124
(757) 880-1019
Crfortier@gmail.com

FELLOWS PROGRAM LIAISON

Brian Charville
Murphy & Riley, P.C.
101 Summer St
Boston, MA 02110
617-423-3700
BCharville@MurphyRiley.com

NOMINATING COMMITTEE CHAIR

Brian Charville
Murphy & Riley, P.C.
101 Summer St
Boston, MA 02110
617-423-3700
BCharville@MurphyRiley.com

YLC APPOINTMENTS

VIRGINIA CLE COMMITTEE

Dean Lhospital
Sneathern & Lhospital
Third Floor
100 Court Square
Charlottesville, VA 22902
(434) 466-7605
dean@cvilletrial.com

VIRGINIA LEGAL SERVICES CORPORATION

Monique A. Miles
Old Towne Associates
1500 Woodbine Street
Alexandria, VA 22302
(571) 243-1318
moniquemiles08@gmail.com

updated: 12/20/2013